Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 5th, 2012

Morning morning everyone!

The winner form this past weekends contest is all the end of this post but pause for the cause and hang with me a bit today.

You know me as ModernJune, digital designer, sewing married mamma of 3. Here’s the thing when I look at my life from the outside its pretty freaking awesome. I am an entrepreneur. a mother, an active member of my community. My kids are pretty kick butt and my husband rocks my socks off.   I consider myself to be decent looking, especially for my age and with three kids. I’m completely crazy at times, I have a completely loud and contagious laugh, I am a lover of anything vintage, I am outspoken and strong willed and I usually don’t back down. I love all things crafty and pretty. I easy get distracted by sparkly things. I can hold a grudge with the best of them and I am a giver.   I am usually extremely confidant and don’t let things bog me down too much. *usually*

When I sat down to really think about this blog post I felt a rush of fear. Sharing what I consider to be a flaw within myself is terrifying. When I finally decided on my “flaw” I almost chickened out completely. There is really only one thing I really beat myself up over. Its a stupid thing, a physical thing a thing most women especially mother deal with. I haven’t been the first to frown at myself in the mirror when I see them and I know I wont be the last.

These things I speak of?? My stretch marks, battle wounds, baby tracks, my tiger stripes, you know what I’m talking about. These faded pink lines that completely cover my stomach, inner thighs hips and even my breasts are the sour note of my morning routine. I can wake up feeling awesome and then I hop out a shower spy them in the mirror and completely deflate myself.

I just recently started wearing shorts again, it had been 6 years since I had worn them. My hubs says I’m crazy and I’m sure he’s right – that there aren’t people on the corner whispering about them but I can’t help myself. I think what has bothered me the most about them is my inability to change them. They aren’t weight you can lose, a zit you can cover…they are these forever things. My body has never been a huge issue for me. When I was 12 and all my friends got boobs, I got wide hips and a booty. I have always been a thick girl with curves and I’m good with that. that I can work – these I can’t. And can we all agree we think its crap that the more baby weight you lose the worse they look over time??? That was quite the kick in the head for me when I shed my 70 pounds of baby only to find with each inch of loss they looked worse and worse.

Well no more for me. I have decided to let go of my memories of my gorgeous flat tummy and pierced belly button. Hell my belly button has been long gone LOL.

So today I pledge to myself and my tiger stripes to

I hope I can encourage some of you to also own your stripes and pledge to love thyself.

Thank you to everyone who played along this weekend! Reading what makes you all happy really made me smile! I am so excited to get know so many of you all this month! The random winner of the 50$ Gift Certificate to my shop – Daisy & June is…

Leah

My 2 year old won’t stay in his toddler bed so we had to put a child lock on the door knob on the inside of his door. Whenever he wakes up in the morning or from nap he walks to the door and knocks. He doesn’t cry he just waits and sometimes knocks again if I don’t get there quick enough. It makes me smile every time I hear that sweet little knock. He always has the sweetest smile when I open the door. Love my kids and all the smiles they bring to my day.

Congrats hun! Message me at daisyandjuneshoppe@gmail.com so we can discuss what you are going to treat yourself to!

xoxo ModernJune

Read Full Post »